Home > Uncategorized > Jay-Z Credits DMX For Inspiring His Stage Presence

Jay-Z Credits DMX For Inspiring His Stage Presence


In a time where it’s exceptionally difficult for Hip-Hop artists to sell out arenas, rapper/ entrepreneur Jay-Z continues to break all barriers by accomplishing what no rapper has done before him. After becoming the first rap artist to headline the Glastonbury Festival in 2008, he will make history once again next Friday at the Coachella Valley Music Festival. The Brooklyn native will become the first solo hip-hop act to top the bill at the event. Despite this incredible feat, all wasn’t peaches & cream for Jay-Z’s stage presence in his early years. In a recent interview with the Los Angeles Times, he opened up about the rapper & artists who motivated him to become the performer he is now today. Check out the full interview here.

“In hip-hop, there’s not many great performers,” Jay-Z told the Los Angeles Times. “I look outside the genre, measuring myself against others. I look at Madonna’s production and envy that. Daft Punk’s set, I’m like, what the… And I look at the way U2 can command an audience. Bono’s a performer pretty much like I am. He’s not a dancer; he’s not jumping around. He’s having a conversation. He’s using his stillness as movement.

All my early years? Forget it. I was a horrible performer,” he admitted, realizing that he needed to up his game when touring with DMX in 1999. “DMX tore me to pieces. I remember being stunned. [DMX] had me really working. But I had to figure this out,” he explained. “If you want to be a headliner, you better put on a headline show.”

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

