Home > Uncategorized > Goapele: Reflections From Oakland – The Oscar Grant Verdict [Blog]

Goapele: Reflections From Oakland – The Oscar Grant Verdict [Blog]


In light of the recent verdict in the Oscar Grant case, Bay Area singer Goapele composed this lengthy blog (via Global Grind) about the tragic events and shocking outcome. Here’s an excerpt below:

Today I send my condolences to Oscar Grant’s family and loved ones. It was only on the strength of modern day technology and fearless citizens that this incident was even recorded and made News. We all witnessed and blatantly saw a cop murder this young man in cold blood.

We now know his name and story. But at 4pm on Friday I stopped my sessions in the recording studio, nervously waiting and wondering if I should be praying. There were so many elements and contemplation of my prayers. Should I be praying for Justice in a system that seems to let me/us down all the time? Praying that the media doesn’t just tape the few kids that start rioting if Mehserle gets off? Praying that the police who stood near 14th & Broadway wouldn’t actually use the tear gas I saw them holding when I drove by, or even worse more guns?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

